What are Pony Club Tests?

The Pony Club Training structure encourages members to take tests which enables them to learn progressively about horse and pony care and riding. The tests are taken at recommended ages and are designed with certain objectives in mind – see below for the order in which tests are taken.


Tests Available to Members

E Test

D Test

D+ Test

C Test

C+ Test

B Test – Riding and Horse and Pony Care (can be taken separately)

Lungeing Test

B+ Test

AH Test

A Test


How to Book

Pony Club Tests are booked differently depending on the level being taken.

E, D, D+, Road Rider, C and C+ Tests

These are organised by Branches and Centres – contact your DC, Chief Coach or Centre proprietor if you’d like to book on to one of these.

B, B+, Lungeing and AH Tests

These are organised by your club’s Area Representative – get in touch with them if you’d like a book a test. Contact details for Area Reps are available on the Committees page.

A Test

These are booked centrally via The Pony Club Office, please follow the links below to book onto the upcoming A Test training days.


Test Fees

Tests E, D, D+, Road Rider, C, C+ are organised at Branch/Centre level and do not attract standard fees.

B, B+, Lungeing, and AH tests are organised at Area level.

A tests are organised by The Pony Club Office

Charges to cover venues and Assessors’ expenses etc. may be levied at the District Commissioner’s, Centre proprietors or Area Representative’s discretion.

2024 Fees
  • B Test – £60 per section
  • B+ Test – £95
  • Lungeing – £45
  • AH Test – £180 Full Test (8 sections), £140 (4 sections) and £45 per section.
  • A Test – £240 Full Test

Direct Entry, Exemptions and Guidelines

We’re delighted to announce that a number of our tests will now be recognised as suitable for direct entry to British Horse Society (BHS) and British Showjumping (BS) examinations, and those holding specified BHS and BS qualifications will be able to take Pony Club Tests at the level relevant to their experience – see the downloads below for more info.

Please be aware that Direct Entry only allows entry into the specified level. It is not a recognition of prior learning. For example if you hold your B Test and enter into the BHS Stage 2 Coach exam, you will be able to progress onto the Stage 3 Coach exam, but you will not hold the full Stage 2 Qualification because you have not passed the other BHS units.

You must have your certificates signed by the Area Representative and District Commissioner and apply for Direct Entry within 5 years of passing the test. If you wish to apply for Direct Entry into BHS exams after 5 years, you can apply for Recognition of Prior Learning, details on this process can be found here https://pathways.bhs.org.uk/resourcehub/forms-and-guidance/direct-entry-guidance

Need more Information?

Please see the contact details to the right.




Contact Image

Karen Bennett

Training Officer