Skip to main content

Royal Windsor Horse Show

We have been fortunate to be invited to compete at Windsor for many years. The prestigious show, generally staged in early to mid May, is an opportunity to showcase Tetrathlon, and indeed The Pony Club to a wider audience. Teams of three are selected to represent eight UK regions, namely Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales and Borders, and then Northern, Central, Eastern, Southern and South West England.

Competition Rules

  • The Competition is open to Junior Members only
  • Members who competed in previous Royal Windsor Horse Show Tetrathlon Competitions are not eligible
  • Teams of 3 are to be selected by the Area Tetrathlon Co-ordinator
  • One Team per Region only
  • Regions are:
    Scotland (1 & 19)
    Northern England (2,3 & 4)
    Central England (7,9 &12)
    Eastern England (6 & 8)
    Southern England (11,13 & 14)
    South West England (15 & 16)
    Wales and Borders (5, 10 & 18)
    Northern Ireland (17)
  • Teams can consist of either two boys and one girl or two girls and one boy
  • All competitors must be prepared to loan their horse/pony to a competitor 
  • The riding phase will be arena jumping which will include a slip rail (usually constructed from coloured poles)
  • All Competitors should be dressed smartly and in accordance with the rules for each phase



2019 Competition

Competitors and parents arrived on Friday afternoon to a sea of mud, with every horsebox having to be towed onto and off the Showground by some frantically busy tractors. Some kind spring weather meant conditions improved amazingly quickly during the course of the week end, and all vehicles were able to drive off without assistance by Sunday evening. 

The Shoot and Swim phase were held at Windsor Leisure Centre, where Beatrice Taylor from Wales and Borders took first place in the Shoot with a score of 980 and Tom Brown from Central England won the Swim. It was back to the Windsor Show Ground for the Run phase, alongside the Thames, where Julia Cash from Scotland took first place.

After the first three phases, Scotland were lying in a strong first place in the team competition, which proved to be unassailable once they had completed the Ride phase. This constituted a show jumping course including a slip rail, with 9 of the 24 competitors achieving a full 1400 marks for the Ride.

Many thanks to the numerous volunteers who helped over the week end, and we look forward to seeing competitors, parents and volunteers as the summer progresses – next stop the Junior International competition at Moreton Morrell at the beginning of June.

Windsor 2019 Results
Individual Results 2019
PDF - 70 kB
Windsor Team Results
PDF - 32 kB
Windsor 2018 Results
RWHS 2018 Scoring Final Teams
PDF - 20 kB
RWHS 2018 Scoring Final Individuals
PDF - 38 kB
Windsor 2017 Results
PDF - 34 kB
PDF - 11 kB
Windsor 2016 Results
Individual Results 16
PDF - 120 kB
Team Results 16
PDF - 11 kB